"Dancing With J.S. Bach I" (2012) - For String Orchestra with String Soloists

$ 50.00

Performance Parts are Rental Only – they may be rented separately or as a set: Please email info@nathanartsmusic.com for a price quote, giving the name of your ensemble and performance date[s]


For String Orchestra and String Soloists

(Solo Violin, Solo Violoncello, Solo Double Bass)

Commissioned by Michael Sporn in memory of his wife, Kitte Sporn, for premiere by A Far Cry


27 minutes 

Program Note

Dr. Michael Sporn approached me in the spring of 2012 with the vision for this project, wanting to commission an orchestration of a number of Bach’s keyboard works. Calling it “Dancing with J.S. Bach,” he wished to create a new dance suite assembled from favorite Bach movements. He provided me with the selections he had in mind, and together we worked to choose the specific movements and set the order of the suite. I have immensely enjoyed this collaboration, arising out of a shared love for the music of J.S. Bach, and the chance to intimately engage with Bach’s music. I worked to imbue these orchestrations with a similar vibrancy that a pianist might bring to a solo performance of this repertoire. These suites celebrate Bach's keyboard music from an orchestral vantage point and illuminate connections between movements Bach composed years apart. I have tried to honor Bach's music while also realizing my own interpretations of his works, occasionally filling in counterpoint and adding other textural elements to realize my interpretation of these works for strings. You may hear my own compositional voice come through subtly at times. You might think of it as a tip of the hat to Bach, from whom I have learned so much as a composer. This work is commissioned by Michael Sporn for A Far Cry in memory of his wife, Kitte Sporn.


I. Capriccio (from Partita No. 2 in C Minor, BWV 826)

II.  Gavottes I and II (from English Suite No. 3 in G Minor, BWV 808)

III. Andante (from Keyboard Sonata in D Minor, BWV 964)

IV. Gavottes I and II (from French Overture in B Minor, BWV 831)

V. Gavottes I and II (from English Suite No. 6 in D Minor, BWV 811)

VI. Courante II (with two Doubles) (from English Suite No. 1 in A, BWV 806)



Score Preview





Related Products